Posted by: amylamb | March 20, 2010

My Life Resolutions

Everybody needs a purpose. Since reading the Life Resolutions of Jonathan Edwards more than two months ago, I have been pondering the specific aspects of the overall purpose that drives each moment of my existence. Though I’m sure this isn’t a complete list, here’s what I have so far:

I have resolved to die daily.
I have resolved to love anyway.
I have resolved to never take the easy road.
I have resolved to keep my word, even when it hurts.
I have resolved not to settle for mediocrity, complacency or comfort.
I have resolved to hold nothing back.
I have resolved to hold no bitterness, regret or vain imaginations.
I have resolved to make daily choices that are beyond my comfort zone.
I have resolved to spend more time in prayer than in entertainment.
I have resolved not to waste a moment.
I have resolved to invest myself into the most profitable exploits.
I have resolved to pursue every opportunity to gain wisdom.
I have resolved to choose my company wisely.
I have resolved to speak the utmost truth at all times.
I have resolved to trust in truth in every crisis moment.
I have resolved that my study shall not cease.
I have resolved to listen well and speak wisely.
I have resolved to continuously sacrifice to be in community.
I have resolved to lay down my rights.
I have resolved to change, not complain.
I have resolved to dare greatly.
I have resolved to hold no fear.
I have resolved to keep a Sabbath day.
I have resolved to pursue the pleasure of God, not men.
I have resolved to live intentionally, eternally, and ultimately, abundantly.

These are my pursuits, collected within the overarching pursuit of Christ. How have you resolved to live?

Responses

  1. Well said Amy, love the resolution for more time in prayer rather than entertainment


Leave a Reply

Categories

