Posted by: amylamb | May 13, 2010

Summer Culinary Adventure: The Box.

Confession: I haven’t cooked for the past two evenings. But you can blame it on my brother for not being around. Cooking isn’t any fun when nobody’s there to cook for.

But tonight, the fraternal unit decided to stick around (I think perhaps he might be a little scared), and I had full intentions of making my favorite Eggplant Parmesan. I even had all of the ingredients out and ready to go when my phone rang.
*Enter boyfriend unit here*
“I’m hungry, I have to be at work in an hour and there’s no food in the kitchen. What are you making for dinner?”
“Formerly Eggplant Parmesan, but I’ll find something to have ready by the time you arrive.”
*Exit grateful boyfriend unit*

So I journey into the pantry to find something that can be ready in 30 minutes or less.
*Enter Hamburger Helper.*
Don’t judge me for cooking out of a box.
(It was way easier than meat loaf in the microwave, by the way).
Yield: A happy and grateful boyfriend unit and a satisfied fraternal unit.
Success.

Casualties: I have managed to obtain approximately 3 burns on my hands in 2 meals, thankyouverymuch. Somehow I missed that “caution: hot stove” memo.

If any of you have any non-box 30-minute recipes to share, I will accept them gladly.
Onward!

Responses

  1. Call me for some easy recipes, hamburger gravy, chicken parmesan, southern fried smothered chicken, etc. Glad you’re enjoying your adventures. For easy to prepare meals also, make things like chili, gumbo, etc. ahead of time as they take a while. Make a giant batch and freeze in 1-2 meal portions. They don’t take long to thaw in m/w and taste just as good the second go round. They are also great to take along in ice chest to feed the son in law school, so he eats healthier on a tight budget while glued to the books.


Leave a Reply

Categories

