Posted by: amylamb | May 17, 2010

Summer Culinary Adventure: Eggplant Parmesan

At last, the long-awaited Eggplant Parmesan. I know you’re all eager to hear about it (that includes you, Mom. No, I’m not eager to hear about the cruise ship food, but thanks).

I learned this recipe in Uruguay (insert moment of reverence and choral soprano ‘ahh’ here). It was one of my favorite meals there and  I was a tad bit disappointed to see the price of eggplants in the closed culinary worldview of Alabama. Yet, I persevered and embarked this evening.  (I strategically placed this recipe around the boyfriend unit, who is highly aversed to all squash-like substances).

In his defense, I learned this evening that said squash-like substance (eggplant) tastes way better in Uruguay (again I submit, what doesn’t?). Yet, the sub-par American eggplant was redeemed within the bubbling dish of cheese, tomato sauce and ground beef (albeit much less lean than its South American counterpart).

Though I presumed that the aforementioned dish would last for at least 4 meals, it was virtually demolished within the hour thanks to an exceedingly hungry fraternal unit. His comments: “I’m not a big fan of eggplant, but this is good. And it doesn’t taste American. Kudos.” It is also received the prestigious JD Chandler Okie Dokie Seal of Approval.

And that, my friends, is what I call success.

Next time, I’ll import the eggplant.
Behold it here: http://twitpic.com/1oqgc2

Footnote: I achieved burn #4.

Leave a Reply

Categories

