Posted by: amylamb | May 22, 2010

Summer Culinary Adventure: Apple Dumplings

So, I realized in the midst of this that I had yet to try dessert.
And I didn’t want to be the lame-o that runs by the Wal-Mart bakery on the way to a dinner party.
I also had less than 20 minutes to prepare said dessert (though I would stick it in the oven later).
So here’s what I did: (And I have been asked if this is a recipe from The Pioneer Woman. Maybe it is, but I got it from my mom).

Mountain Dew Apple Dumplings

2 cans crescent rolls
2 LARGE Granny Smith apples
2 stick butter
1 ½ c. sugar
1 t. cinnamon
1 can (12oz) Mt. Dew

Peel & core apples. Cut each into 8 inch slices. Roll each slice in a crescent roll, beginning at wide end. Pinch edges together to enclose apple slice. Place in 9×13 pan (If you can only find really small apples, buy 4 apples and use 1/3 apple per dumpling.)

Melt in saucepan butter, sugar, cinnamon. Pour over rolls.
Pour Mt. Dew around rolls (if you pour it over them, it will wash off the glaze).
Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes.
Wonderful warm with vanilla ice cream!
Yield: 16 dumplings – Minimum serving per person-2 dumplings, so this would serve 8.

Throw some ice cream on top, and it was good.

Leave a Reply

Categories

