Posted by: amylamb | June 17, 2010

June 14-17

Correct me if I’m wrong, but if this isn’t contentment, then it’s really close to it.
The past three days have been a whirlwind, so this will be a long blog. I give you permission to skim, but at your own expense. 🙂

First off, my roommate and colleague here has been seriously ill this week with a fever. She has been in and out of the hospital all week due to the scant medical care in this lovely city. Pray urgently for her healing and for my preservation from any contagion.

On Tuesday morning, I woke up to learn that I would be joining two colleagues on a day trip to a rural village. I absolutely love spontaneous adventures and exploring this beautiful corner of the earth. To top it all off, we visited brothers and sisters in this village and sat within an upper room together enjoying rich fellowship through the father. As much as I love the Western family, this reminded me of its rampant dysfunctionality in so many ways. Pray for the family here and in the West to be unified together in heart and in purpose.

On Wednesday, I taught two classes, made a few new friends, visited the family of a student, touch-up painted the center, played nurse and had the best peach I’ve ever eaten. That’s all that needs to be said about that.

Today was an absolutely wonderful birthday. We began the quilt in the women’s group today, and I’m pretty sure that my supplies multiplied. I gathered a little here and there, but it was astounding to have it all out on the table and to have more than enough. The ladies are enthusiastic about the project and I was able to have some more meaningful conversation during this activity. Praise Him for providing the supplies and pray that the project will open more doors to build deeper relationships.

After a surprise celebration with cake and candles, we returned to M’s home to visit her and her darling little girl. This is an incredibly generous and moral family. Pray for open doors into the deep places of this family’s heart.

We returned to the center to find it flooded with water this afternoon, marking the very first birthday afternoon that I spent with a mop and a squeegee. And I really wouldn’t have had it any other way.

After another English class, I went outside to play with some young girls who had gathered. This was perhaps the best part of my day. The laughter abounds.
We then visited the family of another student and heard some fascinating stories from the father, who fought in the war several years ago. Again, the laughter abounds with this sweet family. Pray for these children and this family, that they would find true joy from the source of everything good.

So here I am, entirely content and incredibly grateful for such a rich life. I am deeply overwhelmed by your support and truly blessed among the nations. Only two things remain – that many still have not heard and the King has not yet returned.
So I’ll take another day.

Responses

  1. Oh Amy….I will be praying…..love to read your BLOG!
    Love:
    Joan


Leave a Reply

Categories

