Posted by: amylamb | June 24, 2010

June 21-23: Beware of Sudden Monsoon

I think that maybe I should just stay here forever. But that is a topic for another day.

First of all, my roommate is doing much, much better. Thanks for interceding, Dad stepped in. Additionally, the Subtropical Southern European Snot Surplus has subsided and I am feeling great in every way.

Summer is also on sabbatical and monsoon season has stepped in for the interim. Temps are in the high 50’s / low 60’s and I think that’s marvelous. This weather was appropriate for making brownies from scratch on Monday (yes, Dad, we can get scratch here ;)) and taking them to visit the relative of my friend and translator. We spent several hours with this dear woman and plan to spend this Saturday with her making traditional food. I’m excited about this opportunity – Pray for open doors into meaningful conversation with this woman.

After time with new friends on Monday evening, we embarked on a new week Tuesday morning with a team meeting and preparations for a group of volunteers, the first batch of which arrived today. We are especially busy this week with these preparations in addition to regular classes and home visits. After a long day yesterday, my teammate and I intended to take the evening off but had a drop-in visit by the parents of one of our students not long after our last class of the day ended. Doors opened quickly and we ended up spending the rest of the evening in an extraordinarily meaningful conversation with this dear couple. Pray that the truth in this conversation will resonate within their hearts and for further opportunities to continue the discussion.

We visited the widowed mother of a student this afternoon. I was especially impacted by the plight of this dear woman and reminded that meeting physical and social needs of individuals is often the broadest open door into spiritual needs that we can have. Pray for resources and opportunities to meet the physical and social needs of this community.

Okay, this is getting long, so here’s the rest of the targets:

-Pray for the volunteer team that arrives during the latter part of this week and for the activities that they will be involved in next week.-Pray for divine appointments as I continue to build relationships.

-Pray for wisdom, discernment, and a merciful heart to handle every situation with the utmost tact.

Have I mentioned that I love being here? Because I do. And I think I’ll stay a while.

Leave a Reply

Categories

