Posted by: amylamb | June 30, 2010

June 27-30: An Abundance of Americans and A Little Bit of Chaos

This week, I found myself referring to Americans as “they”. Oh, Europe, you’re rubbing off on me.

After worship in the local dialect on Sunday, I went exploring the city with the volunteers (they were under the illusion that I knew where I was taking them, but we just happened to end up where I intended). The evening ended with a few quiet moments on a balcony at the top of the city thinking about how loved it is.

Monday marked the beginning of summer camp. More than 50 children were stampeding the door long before the camp was set to begin. The stampede has continued for the past three days as we spend our mornings preparing, our afternoons conducting the camp and evenings visiting with families and children. I have been blessed this week by the sweet affection of the children and a close & meaningful friendship forming with my translator for the camp. Oh, and I had a full 3-minute conversation in the local dialect today, all by myself. I’m going for 4 minutes tomorrow. 😀

My favorite part of the past two days has been the sudden downpours. He’s coming like the rain, you know.

Okay people, I’m exhausted and going to sleep, so, here’s your bulletpoints:

-Open doors into families and homes through the impact of the camp
-Opportunities to deepen existing relationships
-Health. I’m feeling way better here than I have all year in the States, so let’s keep that going, shall we?
-Patience & mercy. In abundance.

Thanks a bunch. Ya’ll behave up in the motherland.

Responses

  1. Amy,
    You & DAD continue to amaze me!! Talking to Him about you a lot!
    Twyla

  2. I’m glad you’re prepared for rain. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

