Posted by: amylamb | August 3, 2010

Thoughts from the In-Between

Holding back is not my forte. I tend to take the shotgun approach to life, taking every turn at 90 mph and not looking back to see what I may have missed within the rush. I prefer to rip off the band-aid in a single, painful instant just to get it over with. But there’s a downside to this “just do it” approach: It leaves a mark.

"The cross before me, the world behind..."

Eventually, I have to slow down, step back and say, “what now?”. This is never an easy process because it usually involves changing directions. It’s even more difficult when I liked the way I was going in the first place.

It’s here in the in-between that I find myself today. After 8 weeks of being legitimately at home in a role of daily significance, I’m now uprooted, replanted and slightly disoriented into an old role that needs to accomplish new things. It is a dizzying but necessary process. Regardless what the new season brings, I’m clinging to Romans 12:11:

“Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord” (NIV).

There’s time to rest but no time to waste. So I’m getting up, getting ready and getting going. I’m here, today, because it matters.
And that’s something to be excited about.

Leave a Reply

Categories

