Posted by: amylamb | November 9, 2010

You Restore My Soul.

I have an overactive mind.

I have far too many questions and far too little time.

I have far too many dreams and ideas and not nearly enough wisdom or experience to make them a reality.

I have a heart that’s growing restless in the labor that must not waiver until the reward.

The chatter within me is deafening. It’s tiring. And it weakens the persistence of the passion to seek a change.

And so I wait.

I quiet the flurry of the mind.
The questions.
The dreams, the ideas.
The restless heart.
The chatter.

And I enter the stillness again. Into the place where renewal is found.

Where the flurry of the mind sheds its aimlessness for a purpose.
Where the questions trade their uncertainty for clarity.
Where the dreams and ideas are anchored into hope.
Where the restless heart finds security in a promise.
Where the chatter is silenced and replaced with quiet faith.

“You restore my soul.” (Psalm 23:3)

And all that remains is peace. Direction. Curiosity.

Courage.

“For if you keep silent at this time, relief and deliverance will rise for the Jews from another place, but you and your father’s house will perish. And who knows whether you have not come to the kingdom for such a time as this?” (Esther 4:14, ESV).

Responses

  1. Amy, let me just say that I am exhausted and that I need sleep badly…I have so much to do. Yet, when I saw that you had posted something I immediately (after posting something of my own) ran over here to read what you have written; I was not disappointed. I understand your note and I am right there with you…and thanks for the words; I love reading your thoughts and seeing your mind mesh with your heart.


Leave a Reply

Categories

