Posted by: amylamb | March 27, 2011

Think Bigger

We are a culture stuck in the status quo.

We settle for the “good for now” and either glamorize or criticize the “dream chasers.” Something within us longs to take the plunge but the fear of disappointment holds us back from taking a risk that could propel us into a worthwhile purpose.
This is a mindset that suffocates the abundant life that we were created, sought after, and set apart to live. I am not okay with that.

I can not accept the rampant disparity between career and calling. I will not compromise a passion for a paycheck. And I am not willing to settle for less than the best because I believe we were made for more than status quo.

This is not prosperity gospel. This is the reality that even in the seemingly stagnant seasons, even in defeat, and even in disappointment, there is abundance. The availability of abundant life motivates the average dreamer like me to leave the humdrum of normalcy behind to pursue a purpose much bigger than myself.

That’s possible not through “chasing a dream,” but through obediently following a God who is “able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us” (Ephesians 3:20).

“I came that they may have life and have it abundantly” -Jesus (John 10:10).

I’m done with settling for less than that. Are you?

Responses

  1. YES! I’m done settling for that too. Great post Amy. Keep up the writing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

