Posted by: amylamb | May 3, 2011

More Than Typical

“What are you learning?”

Sometimes I am ready for that question, while sometimes I am not. Unfortunately, it comes at the most inconvenient of times, the times when I am the most scattered and unprepared to take a step back and look at the bigger picture. Regardless, it is a question worth asking.

Each day is an experience full of ideas, questions, encounters, relationships and opportunities that shape who you will become, what you will choose to do and where you will choose to go. I thought I had that all figured out. Fortunately, I’ve since figured out that the uncertainties are but part of the plan.

As imaginative as I’d like to think I am, I simply cannot write a plan for my day, for my four years of college or for my life that will encompass all the marvelous uncertainties, unknowns and spontaneities that have shaped my thoughts and identity. It’s been the little things – the late nights of deep discussions, the spontaneous adventures, and the compelling questions that have unraveled and rebuilt my perspective – that have defined my recent days.

It’s the unexpected that makes today more than typical. So I’m learning to be ready to embrace all that comes from the God who ordained my days. Learning to look for the possibilities in the certainties and surprises, joys and sorrows, in the whirlwind and the whisper, in the mundane and in the marvelous. There’s richness there, in the “I don’t know, but I’m eager to find out,” that I could not orchestrate for myself. And I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

So what are you learning? Take the question and pursue it without reserve. But only if you’re willing to be surprised by what you find.

Leave a Reply

Categories

